romans 3: righteousness

Tonight, God reminded me where my righteousness comes from.

Romans 3:20-28 tells me that “by works of the law no human being will be justified.”  That “the righteousness of God has been manifested apart from the law.” That, “all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus… to be received by faith.”  That “we hold that one is justified by faith apart from works of the law.” (italics are mine)

I, Rachel Swift, am not righteous.  I have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.  But Jesus didn’t.  And he came and offered a trade.  He took my life in all of its sin and said that, if I would give it to him, I could have his life instead.

What??

Really??

And yet, just like the Israelites so often forgot how much God had given them, so I forget about what God has given me through the gift of his son–RIGHTEOUSNESS.  Not my own, oh no… Jesus’s.  I can’t mess it up!  I don’t have to earn it!  It’s a gift!  And in fact, if I sit around trying to earn it, I lose it. Galatians 3:10 says that “all who rely on works of the law are under a curse,” and Galatians 5:4 says, “You are severed from Christ, you who would be justified by the law; you have fallen away from grace.”  And James 2:10 says that “whoever keeps the whole law but fails in one point has become accountable for all of it,” reminding me that “no one is justified before God by the law” (Gal. 3:11), which definitely includes me.  And yet so often, I try to justify myself by my actions instead of constantly being humbled at the gift of righteousness I’ve been given for free, just because I am loved.

This is the good news that I want to share with the world!  We can be righteous despite our failings just because God loved us so much that he asked Jesus to die as a sacrifice for our sins, and Jesus obeyed.

Please pray for me that I don’t forget how amazing this gift is, and that instead I feel the urge to tell everyone about it!  Pray that I don’t get hung up on rules and regulations instead of getting hung up on my romance with Jesus and my love for the people around me.  I could never be righteous without Jesus’s pure gift, and I need prayers that this knowledge will light an even brighter fire of love within me, and an even stronger desire to lead people to him so that they can receive the gift of his righteousness too.  Thank you guys so much!  Jesus is Lord!

2 thoughts on “romans 3: righteousness

  1. Pingback: BE ENCOURAGED DRAW FROM THE WELL OF RIGHTEOUS | VINE AND BRANCH WORLD MINISTRIES.COM

Leave a Reply

